Mongolian Fondue

Wow, I need a job that lets me devote my time to my website! I’m always so busy running around, its outrageous! The first of my summer classes are winding down, and hopefully I’ll have some more time to devote to this blog. Slowly, I am cooking up meals from my cookbooks, but it feels like I’ve been slacking!

This week, a friend from Oregon is visiting my sister and I. We haven’t seen her for two years, and we are enjoying the time we are spending with her. Yesterday we showed her around EPCOT and Magic Kingdom. It was rainy, but we persevered and fought the crowds to make magic memories. There is a new quick-service option in the French Pavilion which we ate lunch at. It was very good, and economical. I got a sandwich for $4! One of the cheapest Disney lunches I’ve ever had!

Onward to the recipe….

DSC_0025

I was looking through “The Taste of Home Cookbook” and stumbled upon a fun fondue recipe I just had to try. Throughout the year my family brings out our fondue pot and enjoys a fun evening of interactive dining. It’s fun– plain and simple. It’s like when you brought out your easy-bake oven and prepared those powdered packets. How was this suppose to be a cake? I would wonder in awe. After waiting the amount of time it takes for a lightbulb to cook my meal, I ate my food with gusto–only because I personally created it.

 

I find the same to be with both children and adults alike. If we personally slave away in front of a stove–gosh darn it, I’m going to enjoy that meal. I learned how to enjoy food by immersing myself into the cooking process. So here’s a tip– If a loved one will not eat broccoli/brussels sprouts/ tuna/ ect. , let them prepare ( or help prepare0 the meal.

DSC_0053

This fondue recipe is simple to make, and allows for great customizations.

Mongolian Fondue

  • Servings: 5
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients 

1/2 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup water
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
1-1/2 teaspoons minced garlic, divided
1 cup sliced carrots (1/4 inch thick)
2 cans (14-1/2 ounces each) beef broth
1 teaspoon minced fresh gingerroot
2 pounds boneless beef sirloin steak, cut into 2-1/2-inch x 1/4-inch strips
3 small zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch slices
1 each medium sweet red, yellow and green pepper, cut into 1-inch chunks
1 to 2 cups whole fresh mushrooms
1 cup cubed red onion (1-inch pieces)
1 jar (7 ounces) hoisin sauce

Directions

1.In a saucepan, combine the soy sauce, water, vinegar and 1/2 teaspoon garlic; bring to a boil. Remove from the heat. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

2.In a small saucepan, cook carrots in a small amount of water for 3minutes or until crisp-tender; drain and pat dry. In a saucepan, bring the broth, ginger and remaining garlic to a boil. Transfer to a fondue pot and keep warm. Pat steak, turkey and shrimp dry with paper towels.

3.Use fondue forks to cook beef to desired doneness.Cook vegetables until they reach desired doneness. Serve with hoisin sauce, mustard sauce and reserved garlic-soy sauce.

Serve with Steamed Rice

Recipe inspired by “The Taste of Home Cookbook”

DSC_0065

 

A man fails seven times and rises eight times. – Mongolian Proverb

Leave a Reply

