Three Discoveries

I have made a few discoveries these past few days:

1. I love snorkeling

2. Zumba classes should include a: “May Get Drenched in Sweat” sign on their doors.

3. I have discovered the hidden flavors of pan-frying Watermelon.

 

Blue Springs First things first, I visited Blue Springs the other day with my family and friends. This spring is a cool 72 degrees year-round. During the winter months, hundreds of manatees and their calfs swim into the springs from the ocean to live in warmer water. I have been here during their migration, and I wanted to jump in that water and cuddle each and every one of them. I love manatees so much! (Disclaimer: Under federal law, swimmers are not allowed to touch manatees. Please only observe from a comfortable distance)

This trip however, did not give me a chance to see my majestic sea cows. After walking along a wooden boardwalk, we entered the spring down a series of steps. After swimming for a few minutes up current, we reached the hole. This thing is massive, and scuba divers frequent the caves under the surface. I donned my fins, mask, and snorkel, and explored the fish around the area. It’s so quiet under the water, and relaxing; the only sound you focus on is your own breath. When I was younger, I was terrified to snorkel, just in case I forgot how to breathe. Silly isn’t it? Now I cannot wait to find more spots to explore.

My second discovery led me to a aerobic fitness class held at my college gym. It’s Summer B now, and all the new freshman are now on campus. The gym was packed with weightlifters, basketball players, runners, but mostly freshmen. We were a few minutes late to the class and could barely find a place to stand in the classroom. IT WAS SO PACKED. We were dripping in sweat. Appetizing. Our instructor was energetic, and pumped up the entire class. At one point, three guys opened the door and looked into the class room. All the girls were bent-over shaking their thang. I looked up. They waved. Gauuhhh.

When the class finished, we hopped on over to the locker room to wash our faces. Three freshman girls, (you’ll know why they were freshman in a minute) were standing gawking at the condom dispenser. “You mean these are free?!” The blonde one says, ” Why have I been buying them?!” She then stuffs her hand into the dispenser and fishes out a random assortment. “I wonder if this actually tastes like chocolate?”

Sometimes you are just too classy for your own good.

Moving on to food, I have been slacking on my Cookbook Challenge recently. I was in two accelerated classes which ended on Thursday. I’m currently in one class, but it’s online, and it seems easier than my last classes. I was looking through Gordon Ramsay’s World Kitchen, and stumbled upon this gem. Pan-Fried Watermelon with Yogurt and Caramelized Walnuts. I died. It sounded too good to be true. I drove to the store, picked up the ingredients, and laid my work in front of myself.

watermelonLet me say this: Gordon Ramsay is hawt. His accent, so dreamy. His body, somebody pinch me! But most of all, his delicious biceps dishes. I read his biography during my time in culinary school, and I look up to his work ethic. It’s a fantastic read for you culinary bio lovers out there. Wherever you are.

Watermelon

Chef Ramsay’s food is simplistic, and brings the naturalness from the ingredients. I was craving something sweet, but healthy to satisfy my cravings. This dish was perfect, and my sister devoured it. She literally licked her plate clean.

Watermelon

Pan-Fried Watermelon with yogurt and caramelized walnuts

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

For the Watermelon:

  • 1 small or 1/2 medium watermelon
  • a little olive oil
  • powdered sugar, to dust
  • 1 3/4 – 2 Cups Greek yogurt

For the caramelized Walnuts:

  • 1 T butter
  • scant 1/4 Cup Honey
  • scant 1 Cup Walnuts

Instructions

  1. In a small heavy saucepan add the butter and honey. Place this saucepan over medium heat for 2-3 minutes. Once the butter has melted, add the walnuts. Stir these ingredients to make sure the walnuts are well coated. Keep this over heat for another 1-2 minutes. Once you see the mixture start to bubble and turn a golden brown you can transfer the mixture onto a waxed paper lined baking tray. Set your caramelized walnuts aside for 1-2 hours.
  2. Cut watermelon into an 1 ½  inch thick pieces. Put a little olive oil into a nonstick skillet and place over high heat. Dust the top and bottom of each watermelon with confectioner’s sugar. Place onto your nonstick skillet and pan-fry each side for 1 to 1 ½ minutes. Repeat with each watermelon slice.
  3. Add a scoop of Greek yogurt to the top of each pan-fried watermelon slice. Break the walnuts into small pieces and sprinkle on top! Best served warm.

Recipe inspired by Gordon Ramsay’s World Kitchen 

I cook, I create, I’m incredibly excited by what I do, I’ve still got a lot to achieve. – Gordon Ramsay

Leave a Reply

