Seize The Night

I am a total fan of freebies. Samples, coupons, you name it. So when Houseparty.com asked me to host a party to advertise a new beverage, I couldn’t help but type, “YES!” into the text box.

HouseParty.com is a website designed to promote products/brands in the means of “word-of-mouth” marketing. It’s simple to sign up for, and above all: its fun! I signed up to host a party provided by Desperados — A tequila flavored beer. Although beer and tequila are not my favorite, I decided to give it a go and try it out with my friends. (All over 21+ of course)

#Seizethenight Houseparty.com provided me and my guests with teeshirts, sunglasses, temporary tattoos, (which were more on the permanent side, we couldn’t get them off!) and a gift card to buy party supplies– such as the beer and some snacks. Since Desperados had a mexican feel about it, I felt a mexican fiesta would fit perfectly with the party. I was so tempted to buy a piñata just because I haven’t smacked one in a while; and it fit the theme.

My menu included: chips and a dip my friend Kim made– which was super yummy, sangrias, desperados beer, and shredded chicken tacos with all the fixings. For dessert I decided to make home-made Churros.

Churros

The making of the churros was quite simple, and I found a recipe from Rockin’ Robin at Cooking Mexican Recipes. It’s essentially a modified pate a choux recipe deep fried then rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Whenever I am at a Theme park, I usually buy one of those tasty, soft churros from the cart. It’s nice to make these delicious treats at home– without the crowds of people lining up to buy them.

Churros

 

This recipe uses brown sugar, which gives it a great molasses flavor. We couldn’t help but eat the whole batch! I recommend eating these right away, otherwise they can get a little soggy.

Churros

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 cup water
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1 cup white flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp. ground cinnamon, depending on taste

Instructions

Preheat 1 1/2 to 2 inches of vegetable oil in a 10 to 12 inch frying pan to 375 degrees F. In a separate dish mix the 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon and set aside.

In a 3 qt. sauce pan add the water, brown sugar, salt, and butter and heat to a good boil. Remove from the heat and add the flour. Stirring in the flour will take some muscle. Mix it in until well blended.

In a separate bowl, mix the eggs and vanilla together and then add this mixture to the flour mixture. Stir until well blended and all the egg is completely mixed in.

Fill your decorating bag with the churro recipe dough and attach the largest star tip you have.

Test your oil by placing a small amount of dough in it. The dough should bubble up right away.

Once the oil is hot enough, squeeze some dough into the oil about 4 inches long. I used my finger to release the dough from the star tip.

You should be able to cook 4 or 5 churros at a time. Cook them about 1 minute and turn them over with a slotted spoon. Cook an additional minute or two. You’re looking for that nice golden brown color.

Remove the churros with the slotted spoon and place them on a wire rack with parchment paper underneath.

While still warm, roll each churro into the dish with the sugar and cinnamon until coated.

Recipe inspired by Cooking-Mexican-Recipes.com

#Seizethenight

I am not fan of beer. Disagree all you want, I can’t stand the taste. Give me a nice cider or a glass of wine and I’ll be happy. Or even a nice liquor based drink and I’ll be singing my praises…literally (Mojitos are my absolute favorite!) So when I tried Desperados tequila flavored beer, I didn’t have high hopes for the taste. I first smelled the beer– my family always makes fun of me because I examine my food before I eat it, or in this case drink it. It smelled a little strong, but I mustered up my courage and took a sip. It was sweet, with a beer high note, and finishing off with a smooth aftertaste. I would drink it if I had too, but it wouldn’t be my first choice. The rest of the night I nursed my glass of citrus sangria, munching on churro bites, and socializing with my friends.

He was a wise man who invented beer. – Plato

lyndsay paige

2 thoughts on “Seize The Night

  1. I’d like to invite you to join our site http://www.erecipe.com . I really enjoy your blog and recipes and I think the over 8,000 unique daily visitors to eRecipe will too.
    By joining eRecipe, we will provide the Nutrition Facts for every recipe you post in which you could customize and add to your blog. Viewers need and love to know the nutritional facts. Its a free service that we offer to blogs and recipes we really love. It looks professional and your members will love it.
    Simply visit http://www.erecipe.com or contact me at michelle@erecipe.com. We look forward having you in our network!

    Like

Leave a Reply

