50 Shades of Chicken

As many of you know: I own a ton of cookbooks. { See cookbook challenge here}. One of my favorites was given to me last Christmas by my friend Dom. I had just finished reading “50 Shades of Grey” (More on that later), and was really excited when I unwrapped the book “Fifty Shades of Chicken” Not only does is include 50 mouth-watering chicken dishes, it is so much fun to read! Some of the intros to the recipes just kill me!

Penned by FL Fowler (so punny) Fifty Shades of Chicken evokes readers to submit themselves over to their love of the chicken. As the chicken poses nude (Gasp!) It’s owner performs different recipes on it like: Popped-Cherry Pullet, Extra-Virgin Breasts, and Thighs spread wide. I kid you not, I was laughing out loud when I read the names of the recipes. This is not a family cookbook.

I read 50 Shades of Grey a few months ago, and truthfully, I do not see what all the hype was about. I felt very on-edge the entire time I read the book, like I was being possessed by a male figure. At the time, I was in a rotten relationship, and he was very possessive of me. He felt the need to always be with me, and only with me. I felt indifferent. I had a family , and other friends to tend to. I consider myself to be an independent individual; a woman who can fend for herself if she needs to. An educated woman with a flourishing path filled with dreams and aspirations. He wanted to settle down, and I wanted to run free. It didn’t last long, but the relationship taught me about myself, and what I wanted. So when I read 50 Shades, and I hated the character, Christian. So did I really foresee in this book the beginning of the end of my relationship? I’ll never know.

All I know for sure is, “50 Shades of Grey” has finally released it’s movie trailer:

Will I see this in theaters? Probably.

I’ve made a couple of recipes from the book already, and I finally photographed the product semi-profesh. The lighting was finally on my side ( We ate dinner at a normal hour, compared to our usual dinner time of 9 pm) and I am getting better at finding angles. Any suggestions regarding photography would be appreciated.

“Into the bowl” he commands, ripping a sheet from a packet of foil. “I don’t do vanilla. I’ve never done vanilla. But tonight we’re doing vanilla.” — 50 Shades of Chicken, page 16

Just reading it makes me blush.

I was really excited to use this recipe because I had everything already in the house. I paired this meal with steamed baby potatoes and garlic scented kale.50 Shades of Chicken

 Doesn’t that bird look absolutely appetizing?!

Roast Chicken with Brandy-Vanilla Butter

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

Ingredients

4 Tablespoons Butter, softened

1 Tablespoon Brandy

2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract

1 1/2 teaspoons Sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons Kosher Salt

1 teaspoon ground pepper

1 (31/2-4 lb) Chicken, patted dry with paper towels.

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to a hot 400’f. In a medium bowl, whisk together butter, brandy, vanilla, sugar, salt, and pepper. The mixture will look curdled, but whisk farther and it will come together.
  2. Slap the mixture on the chicken and massage the butter into the crevices. Do not forget to add some of the butter into the body cavity.
  3. Place the chicken on a roasting rack, or roasting pan and cook until thigh juices run clear. This took about 1 hour and 20 minutes for me. Take out of the oven, and let the chicken rest for ten minutes before devouring.

This recipe was provided by 50 Shades of Chicken. FL Fowler. 2012 Clarkson Potter. 

 

Instead of Vanilla extract, I chose to use vanilla bean paste, which added a richer flavor; plus it contains those attractive vanilla seeds. Vanilla Bean Paste

I also opted to use Brady I had gotten on my trip to Paris. I love how the bottle is in the shape of the Eiffel Tower!

Brandy

Overall, the recipe itself is relatively easy; perfect for a date night with a significant other. 

 

My inner goddess is jumping up and down, clapping her hands like a five year old — E.L. James, 50 Shades of Grey

lyndsay paige

One thought on “50 Shades of Chicken

Leave a Reply

